The Carol Brice Music Association of North Carolina is delighted to announce the 2021 NANM Scholarship Competition for Piano and Organ.  Contestants will first compete on the local, then the regional level. Based on these contests, each region will send a contestant to compete at the national phase of the competition, to be held during the 2021 National Convention in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.  The required repertoire embraces the works of European and American composers, while highlighting the contributions of African-American composers.  Please browse the rules and repertoire documents below.

2021 NANM Competition Flyer.jpg

The National Association of Negro Musicians, Inc. has provided encouragement and support to thousands of African American musicians, many of whom have become widely respected figures in music and have contributed significantly to American culture and music history.  We have awarded scholarships to numerous young and talented musicians throughout the country.  A list of past scholarship winners would include such luminaries as Marian Anderson (our first scholarship award recipient), William L. Dawson, Florence B. Price, Margaret Bonds, Warren George Wilson, James Frazier, Julia Perry, Grace Bumbry, Leon Bates, Joseph Joubert, Awadagin Pratt, and many others.

Southeastern Region Scholarship Competiton Winner, Elliott Brown, tenor (center), with SE Regional Director Michael Mitchell and SE Region Scolarship Chair, Levone Tobin-Scott


First Place - Local Competition (Carol Brice Music Association)

First Place - Regional Competition (Southeastern Region)

Congratulations to tenor Elliott Brown for advancing to the national round of the 2019 NANM Scholarship Competition, after winning the local competition held by the Carol Brice Music Association of North Carolina on March 30th, and the regional competition, held by the Metropolitan Atlanta Music Association on April 6th.  Elliott competed with other regional winners at the NANM Centennial Convention in July 2020, where he received an Encouragement Prize.


Our branch would also like to recognize and thank all of our competitors in the centennial scholarship competition:

Joshua Coleman, baritone

Local 2nd Place Winner

Jewel Holmes, soprano

Local 3rd Place Winner

Benjamin Ramsey, tenor

Diana Boicu, soprano

Our 2019 local competition was held on Saturday, March 20, 2019 at the Whitley Auditorium at Elon University.  Per the NANM competition rules, each contestant presented four selections: one Negro spiritual, one art song by an African-American composer, one art song and one operatic aria from the European repertory.  Our competitors represent various colleges and universities across North Carolina.


The Carol Brice Music Association wishes to thank all scholarship applicants, facilitators, adjudicators, and scholarship committee members that have made our competitions highly successful.  We are proud to have collegiates from our branch represent North Carolina and the NANM southeastern region for the past four consecutive years at the national level contest.  Below is a gallery of past winners and highlights from our competitions.

2017 Scholarship: Strings & Harp

2017 Winner

Dwyla Pearson, violin

2017 Winner: Dwyla Pearson (center)

National Round (New Orleans, LA): Brendon Elliott, Anita Dumar, Dwyla Pearson, Tracie Walker, Annelle Kazumi Gregory.

2016 Scholarship: Voice

2016 Winner

Matthew Reese, countertenor

2016 Scholarship Contestants

National Round (West Palm Beach, FL): (L-R) Matthew Reese, countertenor (3rd place); Joshua Staes, baritone; Darshaya Oden, soprano (2nd place); Steven Amie, baritone; and Justin Austin, baritone (1st place winner).

2016 Scholarship Contestants

Local Round (UNC Chapel Hill): (L-R) Maharshi Conston, Aneesa Glines, Matthew Reese, Shaunte Jordan, Tiffanie Briggs, Adrian Fullwinder, Tyrez Dabbs, Simone Price, and Mary Layton.

2015 Scholarship: Piano

2015 Winner

Christina Lai, piano

CBBNC - Site Name2.png

© 2020 by the Carol Brice Music Association • P.O. Box 843 • Elon, NC 27244 

On stage at the Southeastern Region competition on April 6, 2019.